Newfoundland and Labrador Arts Council
Newfoundland and Labrador Arts Council
Join our Mailing List
Join our Mailing List - Click Here


Arts Achievement Award


The Arts Achievement Award recognizes a practicing artist who has made an outstanding contribution to the cultural life of Newfoundland and Labrador over a number of years. The Award comes with a $2,500 cash prize and a piece of original art.

Residency Requirements

The nominee must be a practicing artist who has been resident in Newfoundland and Labrador for at least five years prior to the date of the nomination. “Resident” is normally defined as someone who maintains a principal place of residence in the province.


Accredited Newfoundland and Labrador arts organizations and members of the general public can nominate one person.

Nominees will be considered only for the category in which they are nominated.

Each year a request for nominations is issued to accredited arts organizations throughout Newfoundland and Labrador. Nominations are also solicited from the general public through print media advertising and the ArtsNL e-mail list. Nominations can be completed online at or forms are available here.

Permission from the nominee is mandatory.

Deadline: Nominations must be received by Wednesday, January 31, 2017.

Electronically submitted support material (PDF, JPG, links to video, etc.) is OPTIONAL from the nominator. It is strongly recommended that the nominator seek letters of support for the nomination, which can be submitted at the time of nomination or be forwarded to ArtsNL before the nomination deadline by the letter author.

ArtsNL will contact the nominees requesting support material, which will inform the Council's discussions. All support material to support arts awards nominations must be submitted electronically.

Voting and Selection

The winner of theArts Achievement Award is selected by members of Council who vote by secret ballot. In the event of a tie vote, the Chair has a second vote.

If there are no nominees, or if those nominated do not qualify under the specified criteria, no award will be presented that year.

The Arts Achievement Award is given posthumously only if the nominee dies after being selected as the winner.