Newfoundland and Labrador Arts Council
Newfoundland and Labrador Arts Council
Join our Mailing List
Join our Mailing List - Click Here



statoil Winterset Award logo ArtsNL logo

ArtsNL announces third jury member; publishers reminded of upcoming 2016 BMO Winterset Award submission deadline


December 5, 2016 (St. John's, NL) – ArtsNL is announcing today that Susan Chalker Browne will join Alison Dyer and Berni Stapleton as a member of the 2016 BMO Winterset Award jury.

Susan Chalker Browne has authored 11 books; her most recent book, The Story of the Basilica of St. John the Baptist was a finalist for the 2016 Atlantic Book Award for historical writing.  She writes for children, young adults and adults – some of her titles include The Secret Life of a Funny Girl, The Land of a Thousand Whales (Finalist – 2008 History and Heritage Award), Freddy’s Day at the Races (Best of 2008 Picture Books – Resource Links Magazine),and Goodness Gracious, Gulliver Mulligan (Finalist – Living the Dream Book Award, New York City, 2004)Susan has also won writing awards from the Newfoundland and Labrador Arts and Letters Competition, the Cuffer Prize Competition, and the Writers’ Federation of Nova Scotia Atlantic Writing Competition.  She and her husband Dennis live in St. John’s and have four grown children.

ArtsNL also reminds publishers across Canada that they have until Tuesday, January 2, 2017 to forward submissions for consideration to receive the 2016 BMO Winterset Award.

The award encourages and promotes excellence in Newfoundland and Labrador writing. It was established in 2000 by author and journalist Richard Gwyn. It honours the memory of his late wife, Sandra Fraser Gwyn who was a social historian, prize-winning author, and passionate promoter of Newfoundland and Labrador arts. Winterset was the name of the historic house on Winter Avenue in St. John’s where she grew up. In 2010 BMO Financial Group partnered with ArtsNL and the Sandra Fraser Gwyn Foundation to sponsor the award.

The winner of the 2016 BMO Winterset Award will be announced at a ceremony at Government House on March 16, 2017. Three finalists will be announced in advance of the presentation. The winner will receive a prize amount of $12,500 and the two finalists will receive $3,000 each.

Literary works in any genre, written by native-born Newfoundlanders and Labradorians, or residents of the province, are eligible for consideration. Works must have been published in 2016; submissions must be made by a publisher by January 2, 2017, and must include four copies of each submitted work.

Submissions should be made c/o Reg Winsor, Executive Director, ArtsNL, 1 Springdale Street, P.O. Box 98, St. John’s, NL, A1C 5H5.

Media Contact:
Joshua Jamieson
Communications Officer, ArtsNL
Phone: (709) 726-2212 ext. 203
Mobile: (709) 746-6531
Toll free: 1 (866) 726-2212 (NL only)

The Newfoundland and Labrador Arts Council (now known as ArtsNL) is a non-profit Crown agency created in 1980 by The Arts Council Act. Its mission is to foster and promote the creation and enjoyment of the arts for the benefit of all Newfoundlanders and Labradorians. The Council is governed by a volunteer board of 13 appointed by government, reflecting regional representation of the province. This includes 10 professional artists who provide sectoral representation of the arts community; one community representative (with an interest in the arts); one business representative (with an interest in the arts); and one representative of the Department of Business, Tourism, Culture and Rural Development (non-voting). ArtsNL receives an annual grant of $1.9 million from the Province to support a variety of granting programs, program delivery, office administration, and communications. It also seeks support from the public and private sector. It supports the following artistic disciplines: dance, film, multidiscipline, music, theatre, visual art, and writing.