Newfoundland and Labrador Arts Council
Newfoundland and Labrador Arts Council
Join our Mailing List
Join our Mailing List - Click Here


2016 Lawrence Jackson Writers Award to be presented

The winner of the Lawrence Jackson Writers’ Award will be announced Wednesday, April 5 at the regular meeting of the A.C. Hunter Library Book Club.  

Wednesday, April 5, 2017
The A.C. Hunter Library (St. John’s Arts and Culture Centre)
6:30 p.m. – Award presentation
7:00 p.m. – Book Club meeting*

*The book club will be discussing the Giller prize winning Do Not Say We Have Nothing by Madeleine Thien.
 The discussion is open to the public and everyone is welcome whether one has read the book or not.

The Lawrence Jackson Writers’ Award encourages and promotes original, creative thought in all genres of writing.

The award honours the memory of writer Lawrence Jackson. It is sponsored by his wife Laura Jackson and his children Willow, Holly and Ben, with generous contributions from family, friends, and fellow writers to the Lawrence Jackson Trust Fund.

The Lawrence Jackson Writers’ Award is managed by ArtsNL. All applicants to ArtsNL’s Professional Project Grants Program in the writing category are considered and the winner is selected by a peer assessment committee. One award of $500 is given annually.

For more information:
Joshua Jamieson
Communications Officer, ArtsNL
Phone: (709) 726-2212 ext. 203
Mobile: (709) 746-6531
Toll free: 1 (866) 726-2212 (NL only)