Newfoundland and Labrador Arts Council
Newfoundland and Labrador Arts Council
Join our Mailing List
Join our Mailing List - Click Here


ArtsNL logo Winterset Logo BMO Financial Gorup

Finalists announced for 2016 BMO Winterset Award


February 23, 2017 (St. John's, NL) – ArtsNL is pleased to announce the finalists for the 2016 BMO Winterset Award are Robert Chafe, Michael Crummey, and Paul Rowe. The award celebrates excellence in Newfoundland and Labrador writing. The winner will be announced at Government House on Thursday, March 16, 2017.

The three finalists are:

  • Robert Chafe, for: Two Man Tent (Breakwater Books), St. John’s, NL
  • Michael Crummey, for: Little Dogs (House of Anansi Press), Toronto, ON
  • Paul Rowe, for: The Last Half of the Year (Killick Press; imprint of Creative Book Publishing), St. John’s, NL

The winner will receive a prize of $12,500 and the two finalists will each receive $3,000.

Books in any genre published in 2016 were eligible for the award. A total of 37 works by Newfoundland and Labrador authors (either native-born or resident) were submitted by publishers from across the country. The jury consisted of Susan Chalker Browne, Alison Dyer, and Berni Stapleton.

The Winterset Award honours the memory of Sandra Fraser Gwyn, St. John’s-born social historian, prize-winning author, and passionate promoter of Newfoundland and Labrador arts. Her husband, journalist and author Richard Gwyn established the award in 2000, which is managed by ArtsNL. It’s named after the historic house on Winter Avenue in St. John’s where Sandra grew up.

Finalists will read from their works and answer questions from the audience at a public reading and reception: 7 p.m. Wednesday, March 15, 2017 at The Rooms (in the Theatre), 9 Bonaventure Avenue in St. John’s.

Media Contact:
Joshua Jamieson
Communications Officer, ArtsNL
Phone: (709) 726-2212 ext. 203
Mobile: (709) 746-6531
Toll free: 1 (866) 726-2212 (NL only)

The Newfoundland and Labrador Arts Council (now known as ArtsNL) is a non-profit Crown agency created in 1980 by The Arts Council Act. Its mission is to foster and promote the creation and enjoyment of the arts for the benefit of all Newfoundlanders and Labradorians. The Council is governed by a volunteer board of 13 appointed by government, reflecting regional representation of the province. This includes 10 professional artists who provide sectoral representation of the arts community; one community representative (with an interest in the arts); one business representative (with an interest in the arts); and one representative of the Department of Tourism, Industry, and Innovation (non-voting). ArtsNL receives an annual grant of $1.9 million from the Province to support a variety of granting programs, program delivery, office administration, and communications. It also seeks support from the public and private sector. It supports the following artistic disciplines: dance, film, multidiscipline, music, theatre, visual art, and writing.