Newfoundland and Labrador Arts Council
Newfoundland and Labrador Arts Council
Join our Mailing List
Join our Mailing List - Click Here


ArtsNL announces provincial Arts Awards winners


April 28, 2017 (St. John's, NL) – ArtsNL presented the 32nd ArtsNL Arts Awards tonight at The Rooms theatre in St. John’s, NL. Six awards honouring the accomplishments of Newfoundland and Labrador’s artists were presented.

The winners are:

ArtsNL Patron of the Arts Award: Rex Brown
CBC Emerging Artist Award: Eastern Owl
Memorial University Arts in Education Award: Catherine Wright
ArtsNL Hall of Honour Award: Douglas Dunsmore
Cox & Palmer Arts Achievement Award: Chad Stride
BMO Bank of Montreal Artist of the Year Award: Opera on the Avalon 

“After taking last year’s arts awards on the road to Stephenville, they return to St. John’s this year, as we do every second year,” says ArtsNL executive director Reg Winsor. “The ArtsNL Arts Awards are both a reflection and celebration of the professional arts and cultural work generated by the many talented artists, groups, and arts organizations in Newfoundland and Labrador. ArtsNL is proud to play its role in fostering the creation and enjoyment of the quality artistic work these individuals create, regardless of artistic discipline.” 

“This year, we are thrilled the arts awards returned to being broadcasted, in a new and innovative way through Facebook LIVE and YouTube. We received great interest from many wishing to attend our at-capacity gala. This enabled everyone in the province to watch together, as we celebrate the finalists and those who received honours this evening,” ArtsNL Chair Stan Hill added. “We also acknowledged the strong collective output, achievements, and successes of the province’s diverse and tenacious arts and cultural sector, which significantly contributes to the Newfoundland and Labrador economy.”

Nominations for the awards are submitted by the arts community and the general public. Council members of ArtsNL vote by secret ballot to select the finalists and winners. Winners of the CBC Emerging Artist, Memorial University Arts in Education, Cox & Palmer Arts Achievement, BMO Bank of Montreal Artist of the Year awards receive a $2,500 cash prize and a piece of artwork. The inductee to the ArtsNL Hall of Honour and the ArtsNL Patron of the Arts Award receive a piece of artwork.

Media Contact:
Joshua Jamieson
Communications Officer, ArtsNL
Phone: (709) 726-2212 ext. 203
Mobile: (709) 746-6531
Toll free: 1 (866) 726-2212 (NL only)

The Newfoundland and Labrador Arts Council (now known as ArtsNL) is a non-profit Crown agency created in 1980 by The Arts Council Act. Its mission is to foster and promote the creation and enjoyment of the arts for the benefit of all Newfoundlanders and Labradorians. The Council is governed by a volunteer board of 13 appointed by government, reflecting regional representation of the province. This includes 10 professional artists who provide sectoral representation of the arts community; one community representative (with an interest in the arts); one business representative (with an interest in the arts); and one representative of the Department of Tourism, Industry, and Innovation (non-voting). ArtsNL receives an annual grant of $1.9 million from the Province to support a variety of granting programs, program delivery, office administration, and communications. It also seeks support from the public and private sector. It supports the following artistic disciplines: dance, film, multidiscipline, music, theatre, visual art, and writing.

(incl. full bios & photos for all winners & award artwork creator):