Newfoundland and Labrador Arts Council
Newfoundland and Labrador Arts Council
Join our Mailing List
Join our Mailing List - Click Here


ArtsNL logo

CALL FOR SUBMISSIONS: 2017 BMO Winterset Award

ArtsNL would like to inform publishers that it is actively accepting submissions for the 2017 BMO
Winterset Award.

The award encourages and promotes excellence in Newfoundland and Labrador writing. It was established in 2000 by author and journalist Richard Gwyn. It honours the memory of his late wife, Sandra Fraser Gwyn who was a social historian, prize-winning author, and passionate promoter of Newfoundland and Labrador arts. Winterset was the name of the historic house on Winter Avenue in St. John’s where she grew up. In 2010 BMO Financial Group partnered with ArtsNL and the Sandra Fraser Gwyn Foundation to sponsor the award.

Three finalists will be announced in advance of the presentation of the award, which will happen in March 2018. The winner of the 2017 BMO Winterset Award will receive a prize amount of $12,500 and the two finalists will receive $3,000 each.

Literary works in any genre (fiction, non-fiction, poetry, published drama etc.) written by native-born Newfoundlanders and Labradorians, or residents of the province, are eligible for consideration. Works must have been published in 2017; submissions must be made by a publisher by December 15, 2017, and must include five copies of each submitted work.

c/o Reg Winsor, Executive Director
1 Springdale Street
P.O. Box 98
St. John’s, NL   A1C 5H5

For questions and information, visit or contact ArtsNL at 726-2212 or toll free 1 (866) 726-2212 (NL only).